2016年获奖者

康景轩  博士

在康博士科研生涯的早期,他和亚历山大•利夫教授一起在哈佛医学院进行了omega-3脂肪酸抗心律失常作用的开创性研究。他的研究从分子水平到临床试验提供了综合性的科学依据,全面印证了omega-3预防心脏猝死的功效;并且建立了omega-3脂肪酸可以通过与膜离子通道相互作用从而稳定心脏细胞的电活动来减少心律失常的机制。他在这个领域所发表的论文已被广泛引用,大大地提高了我们对omega-3脂肪酸在心血管健康重要性的认识。

康教授科研成果中的一个重大突破是开发了在动物中制造omega-3脂肪酸的Fat-1转基因技术。现时最突出的营养问题之一是食物提供的omega-6过高而omega-3过低造成的不平衡,然而人类和动物是无法把摄入的omega-6转化为omega-3的。为了解决这个问题,康教授利用基因技术培育出世界上首个能够在自身体内组织中将过多即不利健康的omega-6转化为有益健康的omega-3脂肪酸的动物。这一发明改变了必需omega-3脂肪酸在哺乳动物中无法合成而必须从饮食中获得的现实。因此,这一革命性的生物技术不仅为omega-3合成提供了新的途径和技术,还为研究omega-3的作用和机理提供了独特的新工具,对人类营养,医学研究和大众健康都会带来极大的影响。

康教授创建的Fat-1小鼠模型为omega-3研究开辟了新领域。这个独特的模型可以排除传统饮食研究中存在的干扰因素,使我们能够可靠地研究omega-6和omega-3脂肪酸的真正生物学功能,把Omega-3研究带入更高的水平。在过去的十年里,康教授和世界各地的70多个实验室的合作者利用Fat-1小鼠模型,研究了50多个不同的健康问题或疾病,已发表了超过120篇论文, 提供了大量关于组织内omega-3脂肪酸的生物学作用的知识,极大地加深了我们对omega-6/omega-3比例失衡在慢性疾病发生发展中重要性的理解。

康博士也为脂质技术创新做出了重要贡献。他发明了一个能简化脂肪酸分析过程的方法,已被该领域的研究人员广泛采用。他与哈佛另一实验室合作建立了一个使脂质分子如omega-3脂肪酸在活细胞中可视化的尖端技术。因此技术不会破坏细胞并且无需标记,被认为是该领域的一大技术突破。他同时还在开发新型的生物标志物检测技术,来配合营养干预的临床应用。

目前,康博士致力于将他的实验室研究结果转化成实际应用。他近期在进行omega-3脂肪酸对常见的疾病,包括癌症、自闭症、不孕症以及空气污染造成的健康问题的人体研究。更重要的是,他一直与中国的癌症康复社群密切合作,为癌症患者提供科学的营养干预。来自众多收益者的正面反馈证明了他建立的综合营养干预措施是很有指望的,这将给癌症患者的康复带来新的希望。

康教授同时积极参与教学和培训,并在过去的二十多年里培养了超过60多名来自不同国家的博士和博士后研究人员。他的许多学生现已成为omega-3领域的研究员。

康博士积极地参与并推动了学术团体和专业协会的活动。至今他已组织和主持了数个涉及omega-3脂肪酸的国际会议。他还在多个学术组织担任重要职务,包括国际营养遗传学和营养基因组学学会(ISNN)秘书长,目前是营养遗传学和营养基因组学杂志(JNN)的主编。

多年来,康博士通过各种活动为促进社区健康做出了很大努力。他经常举行健康讲座,而他的演讲增加了公众对omega-3脂肪酸与健康关系的认识。康博士是《吃出健康的智慧》这本书的作者,尽管已经重印了超过25次,这本书的需求量依然有增无减。

康博士的开创性工作开辟了营养医学研究的新领域并获得了国际上的认可。他至今已发表了180多篇学术论文,很多发表在顶级科学刊物包括《自然》和《科学》 等杂志。这些论文被广泛引用(已达一万两千多次),H指数高达56。在过去数年里,他已被邀请在100多个国内外学术会议上作报告。他的研究成果被《发现》杂志列入2006年和2007年的100个重要科学研究成果之一, 被《自然网络》评为2006年十大重要波士顿研究, 被美国国立卫生研究院评为2006年最重要的膳食补充研究之一。他被美国《君子》杂志选为“2007年最优秀、最睿智的人物”之一。康教授的研究成就和对大众健康的奉献得到全球的公认,他不愧为一位杰出的科学家。

2016 Laureate

Jing X. Kang, MD, PhD

Early in his career, Dr. Kang conducted pioneering work on the anti-arrhythmic effects of omega-3 fatty acids together with Dr. Alexander Leaf at Harvard. His studies, ranging from molecular experiments to clinical trials, have generated comprehensive evidence for the efficacy of omega-3 in preventing cardiac sudden death and established the mechanism by which omega-3 fatty acids can reduce cardiac arrhythmia by interacting with membrane ion channels and stabilizing the electrical activity of heart cells. His publications in this field have been widely cited and contributed significantly to the importance of omega-3 for cardiovascular health.

The next major breakthrough Dr. Kang made was the development of the fat-1 biotechnology to produce omega-3 fatty acids in animals. One of the greatest nutritional problems today is the imbalance of high omega-6 and low omega-3 in food sources, and animals as well as humans are unable to convert omega-6 to omega-3. To tackle this problem, Dr. Kang utilized genetic technology to create the world’s first animals capable of producing omega-3 from omega-6 within their tissues. This discovery has changed the reality that the essential omega-3 fatty acids cannot be synthesized in mammals and must be obtained from the diet. Therefore, this revolutionary biotechnology provides a new strategy for omega-3 production as well as a novel tool for omega-3 research, with great potential to benefit human nutrition, medical research, and public health.

The creation of the fat-1 mouse model by Dr. Kang has opened new frontiers for omega-3 research. This unique model made it possible to study the authentic biological functions of omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acids without the confounding factors of diet, thereby overcoming the many hurdles of conventional dietary studies. Over the last ten years, Dr. Kang and his collaborators worldwide (over 20 countries) have investigated many different disease conditions using the fat-1 mouse model and have published over 120 papers, which have generated a vast pool of knowledge about the biological effects of elevated tissue omega-3 fatty acids and greatly increased our understanding of the importance of the omega-6/omega-3 ratio in the development of chronic disease.

Dr. Kang has also contributed to lipid technology innovations. He created a method to simplify the procedures of fatty acid analysis, which has been widely adopted by researchers in the field. He collaborated with another group to establish a cutting-edge technology for visualizing lipid molecules, such as omega-3 fatty acids, in living cells, with no destruction to cells and no need of labeling. He is also developing novel biomarker tests for guiding nutritional interventions.

Currently, Dr. Kang is dedicated to translating his laboratory findings into practical applications for human health. He has been conducting human studies to investigate the potential role of omega-3 fatty acids in human diseases, including cancer, autism, infertility, and air pollution-related health problems. Notably, he has been working closely with the cancer rehabilitation community in China to implement nutritional interventions for cancer patients. The integrated approaches he created have proven to be very promising, with remarkably positive feedback from the community.

Dr. Kang actively participates in teaching and training, and has mentored more than 60 pre- and post-doctoral trainees from different countries over the last few years. Many of his trainees have become principal investigators in the field of omega-3.

Dr. Kang has also contributed significantly to the activities of the academic community and professional societies. He has organized and chaired several international conferences on topics involving omega-3 fatty acids over the past years. He has served on the board of a number of scientific organizations, including as the Secretary/Treasurer of the International Society of Nutrigenetics and Nutrigenomics (ISNN), and is currently Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Nutrigenetics and Nutrigenomics (JNN).

Over the years, Dr. Kang has devoted great effort to promoting health in the community through a variety of activities. He frequently gives health education talks and his work has increased public awareness of the benefits of omega-3 for human health. He is also the author of the book “How to Eat Well for Good Health”, which has been reprinted over 25 times and is still in high demand.

Dr. Kang’s seminal work has opened up new fields of investigation in nutritional medicine and has been recognized internationally. His research has resulted in more than 180 scientific papers published in top tier journals (including Nature and Science) that have been widely cited, with an h-index of 56. He has been invited to speak at more than 100 national and international conferences/seminars during the last few years. His studies have been selected as one of the Top 100 Science Stories of 2006 and 2007 by Discover magazine, Top 10 Significant Boston Research of 2006 by Nature Network, and Most Significant Dietary Supplement Research Advances of 2006 by the NIH. He was named one of “The Best and Brightest 2007” by Esquire magazine. Altogether, his globally recognized achievements and dedication to public health demonstrate that Dr. Jing X. Kang is truly an outstanding scientist.